Legal Thriller: Saturday’s Pick

“A knockout legal thriller with a doozy of a twist.” ―Booklist, starred review
“Courtroom drama at its finest…Thirteen is an outstanding legal thriller, so original, clever and accomplished that it should not be missed. It marks out Cavanagh as the heir apparent to John Grisham.” ―Express (UK)

Another Legal Thriller by Steve Cavanagh

This is a legal thriller you’ll find difficult to put down: It’s the murder trial of the century. And Joshua Kane has killed to get the best seat in the house – and to be sure the wrong man goes down for the crime. Because this time, the killer isn’t on trial. He’s on the jury.

But there’s someone on his tail. Former-conman-turned-criminal-defense-attorney Eddie Flynn doesn’t believe that his movie-star client killed two people. He suspects that the real killer is closer than they think – but who would guess just how close?

This Legal Thriller Tracks the Serial Killer and the Defense Attorney

I was hooked by the subtitle: “The serial killer isn’t on trial, HE’S ON THE JURY.” Joshua Kane is a serial killer who’s evaded detection for decades. The kill is only the beginning of his emotional rush. The game is in setting someone else up to take the fall for his crimes, and he’s a master at the art.

Kane’s target this time is a fast-rising Hollywood actor named Robert “Bobby” Solomon. Bobby not only found the victims, but his fingerprints are on one of the murder weapons. His reluctance to provide any information on his whereabouts isn’t providing the key information sought by the improbable defense attorney, Eddie Flynn. Flynn has a shady past as a conman and didn’t sign on to this case to be the lead attorney.

Everything changes the day before the trial begins and the stunning revelations begin to present themselves as Flynn methodically begins to unravel the elusive clues.

The one disappointing element in the book was Flynn’s relationship with the judge. I found it doubtful any judge would ignore judicial prudence to the level this one did. What I did love, was the passion with which Flynn loved his wife and daughter and wished to protect them from the horrors committed by the people who permeated his unorthodox practice of law.

Other Legal Thrillers by Steve Cavanagh

Read these legal thrillers in order of publication.

The Defense: 

Steve Cavanagh continues his mastery of the legal thriller:  Former con artist turned lawyer Eddie Flynn gave up the law a year ago after a disastrous case, and he vowed never to step foot in a courtroom again. But now he doesn’t have a choice. The head of the Russian mob in New York City, on trial for murder, has kidnapped Eddie’s ten-year-old daughter: Eddie has to take this case whether he likes it or not.

Using his razor-sharp wit and every con, bluff, grift, and trick in the book, Eddie has only forty-eight hours to defend an impossible murder trial. And if he loses this case, he loses everything.

The Plea

“Rip-roaring legal thriller…Twisty, bloody, and convincing.” —Ian Rankin
An innocent client. A wife in jeopardy. Who will take The Plea?

When billionaire David Child is arrested for the murder of his girlfriend, Clara, the FBI believes they can get him to testify and take down a huge money-laundering scheme.

Con-artist-turned-lawyer Eddie Flynn is given the job: persuade David to plead guilty and give the agents the evidence they need. If Eddie can’t get David to take a plea bargain, the FBI has incriminating files on Eddie’s wife – and will send her to jail. But David swears he didn’t murder anyone.

The evidence overwhelmingly shows that David killed Clara: the security video showed no one else entering their apartment, the murder weapon was in his car, and he was covered in gunshot residue he can’t explain. Yet as the FBI pressures Eddie to secure the guilty plea, Eddie becomes increasingly convinced that David is telling the truth.

With adversaries threatening, Eddie has to find a way to prove David’s innocence and find out if there’s any way he might have been framed. But the stakes are high: Eddie’s wife is in danger. And not just from the FBI…

The Plea is a locked room mystery from Steve Cavanagh, the author Nelson DeMille compares to John Grisham, Scott Turow, and Brad Meltzer.

“The Plea is one of the most purely entertaining books you’ll read this year. It’s a blast.”
—John Connolly, bestselling author of the Charlie Parker novels

The Liar

A must-read for fans of Lee Child, John Grisham, and Michael Connelly. Combining gripping action and ingenious plotting, THE LIAR is the brilliant new legal thriller from the author of THE DEFENCE and THE PLEA.

When the daughter of a prominent businessman who runs a successful security firm goes missing, the only person who can be called upon to assist in facilitating the transaction of a hefty ransom is Eddie Flynn.

‘Plotting that takes the breath away.’ Ian Rankin

‘Steve is a fantastic thriller writer’ Mark Billingham

IT TAKES ONE TO KNOW ONE…

Connect with Steve Cavanagh

Amazon Author Page
Fantastic Fiction-Steve Cavanagh

Author Website

Twitter
Goodreads

 

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.